Godincidences

Well Leuven has a been a bit rainy, but that hasn’t stopped us from exploring the city, having our daily Bible studies, training, and learning more about each other. We’ve simply learned how to embrace riding through the rain on our bikes, utilizing in our rain coats.

We went and got our bikes on Monday that we’ll be renting for the rest of the trip. Mine’s name is Manchester, Manny for short. He’s been doing a great job transporting me throughout Leuven. I also got to reunite with my favorite Belgian friend I met last year, Charlotte.

One of the neatest aspects about the trips so far that I’ve really enjoyed is getting to meet people. Usually I’m a bit reserved and last year, I realized I tended to let other team members initiate conversation and just follow along. The Lord has been blessing me and the team with many new friendships. When we meet people, we invite them to come to a family dinner, since we cook dinner every night in the hostel. A total Godincidence (since I don’t really believe in coincidences) happened Wednesday. All day, it had been raining. We decided to do our run before 5, our usual time we leave for the track. After getting back and being soaked enough to wring out my clothes and taking a hot shower, I am going to be totally honest and admit I did not want to go back out in the rain and pedal to the track. I mean, it was pouring. What were the chances of anyone actually being there? Well, the Lord had other plans in mind. We arrived at the track and there were four other people in the stand. Ok, better than no one I thought! One of them held up sunglasses and asked if any of us had left them at the track. What do you know, they belonged to one of us. Thanks God, for that great conversation starter! We exchanged hellos with the four of them, used my best Dutch to pronounce their names, and began talking. For the next 45 minutes, we all chatted, conversation flowing easily. The first new friend I started talking with actually studied at U of I for a semester through an exchange program. Long story short, they came over for dinner last night and ended up having conversations with them that were simply amazing. And to think this never would have happened if I hadn’t chosen to be obedient to the reason we go to the track- to minister, meet, share, develop relationships, and show love to others .

Other updates…During team time, we’ve been sharing our stories about how the Lord has impacted our lives along with digging into the book of Jonah. (More on this later…) Since today was Friday, that means market day at the square! Dozens of vendors come and set up and it lasts all morning. My personal favorite is the nuts and dried fruit stand. I’ll take a kilogram of each, please! I still have yet to try it, but I bought some fresh yogurt (see photo below). Another highlight was the stand titled, “superkip”. In English, that means Superchicken. Of course being Americans, we had to take a team picture in front of it. We had banana strawberry Nutella crepes for dessert tonight…delicious. I tried to take a picture, but it fails to do it justice.

2nd race tomorrow at Kortrijk! Excited for our team to have the opportunity to implement the principles while competing with the talent God has blessed us with. Also, all 4 of us distance girls are running the 1500 which will be so much fun! This will be my 1st time running the 1500 in almost a year. The last time I ran one was last year in Belgium. Going in, I’m continuously reminding myself of one of my favorite verses – Joshua 1:9.

Have I not commanded you? Do not be afraid or discouraged; for The Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

20140711-235604-86164577.jpg
Strawberry banana nutella crepes 🙂

20140711-235603-86163346.jpg

20140711-235604-86164227.jpg

20140711-235604-86164005.jpg
Fresh yogurt
20140711-235954-86394263.jpg
Reunited with my favorite Belgian friend!

 

3 thoughts on “Godincidences

  1. Love “godincidences.” Did you ever end up reading The Alchemist? If not, you should! It’s a beautiful little story about them. Good luck tomorrow!

    1. Thanks, Elizabeth! Yes, I did. I think you’re the one who actually told me to read it. So thanks to you! I should re-read it though once I get home. 😀

  2. Great blog, Kates!… really enjoyed it! I too do not believe in coincidences, but Godincidences. I have experienced many of them over the course of my sobriety. I hope “Manny” is getting you around well and keeping my little toots safe. Love you very much, honey! Let me know how your race goes. Run like the wind, Kates!! xoxo

Leave a comment